Confetti Mac and Cheese

It is Orthodox Lent season so my family is abstaining from meat until Pascha (Orthodox Easter). Therefore, we eat a lot of fish, vegetables and pasta. I wanted an easy dinner idea so decided on frozen fish with mac and cheese. I didn’t want just plain old mac and cheese so decided to try a new version.

Confetti Mac and Cheese

http://www.peasandcrayons.com/2012/12/confetti-mac-and-cheese.html

Confetti Mac and Cheese

Taste: 2

Difficulty: I’ll explain

What I thought interesting about this recipe was that I did not have to boil the pasta while trying to make cheese sauce; mix it all together and then bake for almost an hour. Almost everything was done in one pot. I bought elbow macaroni to use instead of the shells and had a bag of frozen vegetables that needed to be used that I steamed while cooking the pasta.

Here is where it gets interesting. I put the pasta and the milk in the pot and started cooking. The milk was absorbed WAY too fast and I had barely cooked pasta on my hands. I added some more milk and started stirring again (the recipe says this part of the cooking process should only take about 15 minutes). I was stirring and adding more milk for almost 45 minutes. I finally got my pasta cooked adequately so I added the cheese and it officially turned into a mess. It got super thick, which required me to use even more milk (Grr!). I was so frustrated by this dish that ended up looking completely unappealing that I did not even eat any. I let the hubby do that. The man that eats almost anything thought it was an epic fail.

I decided to look at the comments on the post and found that it was not just me. Several other readers had attempted this dish with the same result as me. Very few received the same result as the original source.

I guess I’ll stick to the traditional or boxed way next time 😦

Leave a Reply

