Sparkling Jumbo Blueberry Muffins

We don’t get snow days here in Kansas very often so I am taking advantage of the day at home with no demands on my time. I decided this lazy day would be great for trying out a new blueberry muffin recipe. The pictures always make the food look so good you can’t help but try it! The original post came from sallysbakingaddiction.com.

DSC00985

Difficulty: Easy

Taste: 5

I decided to make mini muffins as I don’t have a jumbo muffin tin. I also don’t like overly sweet so I didn’t add the sparkling sugar on top. The recipe was extremely easy to throw together. It also warns that the batter will be thick. It was VERY THICK. I thought I was going to break my cookie scoop trying to get the batter out of it!

In the recipe, it tells you to preheat the oven to 425 degrees, bake for 5 minutes then turn the heat down to 375 to finish baking. I failed to scroll down to the very end of the recipe where, in italics, it says not to start at 425 when doing mini muffins. Oops! I noticed it when I had just put the muffins in the oven. I immediately turned the heat down but some damage was done. Upon removing from the oven, the bottoms were slightly overdone and the tops were very crusty. I could deal with crusty but I cannot stand overdone which then made the inside dry and crumbly.

Will I make this recipe again? Probably not. I’ll stick with the tried and true recipe from my mother.

Leave a Reply

